Minty Fresh Reusable Tissues

Reusable tissues?  Sounds familiar…

Of course, I am talking about ye good auld handkerchiefs!  Since I’m a bit of a germaphobe and herbaphile, I decided to adapt them to my liking and (hopefully) make them cool again.

First of all, cotton handkerchiefs are very easy to clean.  After removing any stains, I soak the cloth in a strong salt solution (2 tablespoons of salt per liter of water).  Concentrated salt dehydrates cells, including bacterial and fungal cells.  After an hour or more of soaking, I rinse the handkerchief with water and hang it up to air-dry or, even better, lay them on a wool blanket to dry.

After air-drying, the handkerchief is ready to be put in the Tissue Box.  I simply reuse a polystyrene (PS) box that had previously stored chocolates.  I place a peppermint tea bag (in wrapper) at the bottom, lay dampened folded handkerchiefs on top of it and close the lid.  Over time, the handkerchiefs become infused with cooling, calming sinus-clearing menthol, with the help of the humidity inside the box.  To dampen the tissues, I use a spritz of rose, chamomile or orange flower hydrosol (whatever I have the most of, because I distill them myself in small batches).  The flower water also makes the cloth softer and more skin-friendly.  A spritz of plain water or adding the handkerchiefs while they are still damp also works.  Cotton with some moisture is easier on the nose, too.

That’s all there is to it!  I want to add that I like the kids’ handkerchiefs from an Aldi promotion.  They are smaller and have a cute pattern on one side, so I can tell which side I blew my nose on.

Leave a Reply

